Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico can be divided into five distinct regions (the northern region; the eastern region; the central region; the western region; and the southern coast), each with unique characteristics and flavors. 

Northern Region
The capital of the island lies within this region. San Juan is the center of commerce and is also the main port of entry. This is the most populous and economically diverse region in the island.

Eastern Region
This region is home of El Yunque, known as the Caribbean National Forest, is located in the rugged Sierra de Luquillo, 40 km southeast of San Juan.

Central Region
The central region is characterized by the Cordillera Central that rises to heights between 3,500 and 4,389 feet above sea level. The cool climate all year-round and rainfall of this area turned this region into an important agricultural center.
Western Region

Hundreds of miles of coastline make this a popular beach region, most of the island's top beaches are located in this region. This region is known for its diving and world famous surfing.

Southern Region
This hot and humid region is by far the driest in the island, with only 36 inches of rain a year.